Schnell-Navigation:

Hochschule Bremen - University of Applied Sciences

Hochschule Bremen


Practical Orientation

Students of the International Degree Programme in Tourism Management (ISTM) can apply what they have learned in a practical way via the projects of the Learners' Company, the integrated semester abroad (5th and 6th semesters) and the numerous high-quality guest lectures.

Learners’ Company

The Learners' Company is the "practical workshop" of the programme and offers students the opportunity to gather practical experience as early as the 4th semester. It also represents a special feature of the International Degree Programme in Tourism Management. Practical projects with companies from the tourism industry are undertaken jointly with the International Degree Course in Applied Leisure Studies (IPAF) of Bremen University of Applied Sciences. In collaboration with representatives from the actual working world the Learners' Company offers students the opportunity to take part in tourism projects, thereby providing task-based learning with a practical orientation.
The program coordinator of the Learners' Company is Claudia Freimuth.

Year abroad (fifth and sixth semesters)

ISTM students spend the 5th semester in different parts of the world at one of more than 60 partner universities of the School of International Business (SIB). For their studies abroad, students select modules from the following three areas whose content is integrated into the curriculum as an elective component:

  • Area I: Business Management/ Tourism Management
  • Area II: Culture / Intercultural
  • Area III: Tourism Politics / Tourism Economy and Geography.

The fourth module is a so called "open module", where students have the choice to select (almost) any subject including one outside their partner university, e.g. by working for a charity or non-profit organization.

The practical semester abroad takes place in the 6th semester. It consists of an internship lasting at least 20 weeks in a company, an institution belonging to the tourism industry itself or which is related to tourism. The stay abroad in the 5th and 6th semesters is a compulsory part of the curriculum for all ISTM students.

Amongst others in the modules Intercultural Management, Foreign Language, country-specific Culture Studies and Tourism studies: teaching, research and campus culture, the students prepare themselves intensively and professionally for the stay abroad. Upon their return they reflect on their experiences and transfer them to their personal career and life planning.

Guest lectures

Every semester ISTM students have the opportunity to take part in high-quality guest lectures, when representatives from the working world are invited to give a paper on interesting and current topics as part of a special event.


 


 

 

Access Keys:

Schnell-Navigation:

Hochschule Bremen - University of Applied Sciences

Hochschule Bremen
Top-Themen


Praxisbezug

Den Studierenden im Internationalen Studiengang Tourismusmanagement (ISTM) wird der Bezug zur Praxis durch die Projekte der Learners’ Company, dem integrierten Auslandssemester (5. und 6. Semester) sowie durch zahlreiche hochwertige Gastvorträge ermöglicht.

Learners’ Company

Die Learners’ Company ist die "Praxiswerkstatt" des Studiengangs und bietet den Studierenden bereits im 4. Semester die Möglichkeit, praktische Erfahrungen zu sammeln. Sie stellt außerdem eine Besonderheit im Internationalen Studiengang Tourismusmanagement dar. Hier finden gemeinsam mit dem Studiengang Angewandte Freizeitwissenschaft (ISAF) der Hochschule Bremen praktische Projekte mit Unternehmen der Tourismuswirtschaft statt. Die Learners’ Company bietet den Studierenden damit die Gelegenheit, unter Mitwirkung von Vertretern aus der Praxis an touristischen Projekten mitzuarbeiten und ermöglicht somit ein aufgaben- und praxisorientiertes Lernen.

Beispiele für Projekte der Learners’ Company:

  • Jazz Cruises
  • Schulbegegnungreise in die Beluga School for Life, Thailand
  • Öffentlichkeitsarbeit rund um den Diversity Day 2015 in Bremen
  • Markt- und Potentialanalyse zu den Freizeitangeboten im Stadtteil Bremen-Hemelingen
  • Kunstreisen mit dem Kunstverein Syke
  • Tag der offenen Tür an der Hochschule Bremen
  • Waldtourismus Sellhorn
  • Die Faszination des Anderen – Interkulturelle Eltern-Kind Reise
  • Wassersportzentrum Bremen
  • Nachhaltiger Jugendtourismus
  • Entwicklung eines Marketingkonzeptes für die erste Social Travel Agency
  • Lübbenau / Spreewald: Marketingkonzept für Familien mit Kindern
  • Höfische Spielkultur – ein Maßnahmenkonzept für Schloss und Park Pillnitz
  • Besucheranalyse für die Glocke Bremen
  • Marketing-Projekt Hotel Forsthof, Österreich
  • Eventkonzept Weserpromenade Schlachte
  • Nutzungskonzept Bremer Rathaus
  • Organisation und Gestaltung eines Kinderevents im Rahmen des Kajenmarktes in Bremen
  • Direktmarketing in der Hotellerie am Beispiel der Upstalboom-Hotelkette
  • Fit4Service, Qualitätsmanagement in Hotellerie und Gastronomie in Bremen
  • Nutzungs- und Marketingkonzept Hansekogge Bremen
  • Organisation eines Brasilienkongresses
  • Vorbereitung Tourismuskonzept Skilanglauf Masuren in Polen

 

Auslandssemester (5. und 6. Semester)

Das 5. Semester verbringen die ISTM-Studierenden weltweit an einer von über 60 Partnerhochschulen der School of International Business (SIB). Die Studierenden wählen für das Studium im Ausland Module aus folgenden drei Bereichen, die sich inhaltlich in das Curriculum als Wahlpflichtbestandteil einfügen:  

  • Bereich I: Business-/Tourismusmanagement
  • Bereich II: Kultur/Interkultur 
  • Bereich III: Tourismuspolitik/Tourismuswirtschaft und Geographie

Das vierte Modul ist das sogenannte "offene Modul", bei dem de Studierenden (fast) freie Wahl haben und sich auch außerhalb des Angebotes der Partnerhochschule z. B. eine Mitarbeit in einer gemeinnützigen Einrichtung als Modul anerkennen lassen können.

Im 6. Semester findet das praktische Auslandsstudiensemester statt. Es besteht aus einem Praktikum mit einer Mindestdauer von 20 Wochen in einem Unternehmen oder einer Institution der Tourismuswirtschaft oder mit Tourismusbezug. Der Auslandsaufenthalt im 5. und 6. Semester ist für alle ISTM-Studierenden Pflichtbestandteil des Curriculums.

Unter anderem in den Modulen "Interkulturelles Management", "Fremdsprache", "Besondere Kulturwissenschaften" und "Tourismuswissenschaften: Lehre, Forschung und Campuskultur" bereiten sich die Studierenden intensiv und professionell auf den Auslandsaufenthalt vor. Nach der Rückkehr werden die Erfahrungen reflektiert und es erfolgt ein Transfer zur persönlichen Karriere- und Lebensplanung.  

Gastvorträge

Um die Qualität der Lehre zu verbessern und den Bezug zur Praxis zu intensivieren, haben die ISTM-Studierenden jedes Semester die Möglichkeit, an qualitativ hochwertigen Gastvorträgen teilzunehmen. Dazu werden Vertreter aus der Wirtschaft eingeladen, die über interessante und aktuelle Themen referieren. Gastreferenten waren in den vergangenen Jahren z.B.

An dieser Stelle sei allen Referenten für Ihr Engagement gedankt!


 

Access Keys: