Schnell-Navigation:

Hochschule Bremen - University of Applied Sciences

Hochschule Bremen


Tuition Fees for long-term students

Dear Students,

on this page you will find information on tuition fees for long-term students. We would like to give you a brief overview of the legal foundations and the further proceedings related to tuition fees.  

Legal foundations:

Pursuant to Article 109 a of Bremen's Higher Education Act (BremHG) from June 22, 2010 most students receive a study account with a study credit when they register at university. Further details are expounded in the Study Account Act of Bremen and the ordinance hereto related issued by the University of Applied Sciences Bremen regulating the execution of  the Study Account Act of Bremen (Study Account Regulation).


Calculation of your individual study account credit

The calculation of your individual study account credit in the form of tuition-free study semesters proceeds in accordance with the Articles 2 to 4 of Bremen's Study Account Act. In principle, the following applies:

  • Students receive a study account credit covering a total of 14 semesters.
  • Students who are older than 55 years receive no study account credit at all.

Consumption of the study account credit

All tuition-free university study semesters which have been completed at the University of Applied Sciences Bremen or at any other university in Germany or Europe will be deducted from the study account credit.

Total amount of tuition fees
The tuition fees for long-term students amount to 500.00 euros per semester. The tuition fees must be paid upon re-registration in addition to the semester fees. Students who are obliged to pay tuition fees shall receive an official notice of the fees to be paid.


Hearing procedures

Hearings are initiated each semester for students who are obliged to pay tuition fees. These students will receive a cover letter and a pre-hearing questionnaire. Students who have received such a letter have the following options in the purview of the hearing procedure:

  • They are entitled to file an application for exemption from the obligation to pay for   tuition on account of exceptional situations pursuant to Article 5 of Bremen's Study Account Act, for example, because of a leave of absence from another university or the need to take care of a child.
  • They are entitled to file an application for forbearance, abatement or waiver of the tuition fee on account of prevailing circumstances of undue hardship pursuant to Article 6 of Bremen's Study Account Act, for example, because of the study-prolonging effect of a handicap or severe disease.

To ensure that these facts may be considered, the pre-hearing questionnaire must be filled out, undersigned and endowed with evidence within the time period stated.

Notice of fees
Subsequent to the return of the pre-hearing questionnaire a decision will be taken regarding the applicant's obligation to pay the fees and dispatched to the applicant along with an instruction on his or her rights of appeal. If an objection is raised against a notice of fees it must be observed that the tuition must be paid provisionally, as an objection does not grant a suspensory effect. Re-registration will be put on hold and the semester documents (Leporello) will not be dispatched until payment has been received. It is therefore very important that the students who have received a letter send the pre-hearing questionnaire back within the deadline period, so that the circumstances stated therein can be taken into consideration before a notice of fees is issued.

We hope that this information will answer most of your questions, yet we have compiled some more frequently asked questions and the corresponding answers under the link FAQ.

Your Academic Registrar's Office


 

 

Access Keys:

Schnell-Navigation:

Hochschule Bremen - University of Applied Sciences

Top-Themen


Studiengebühr für Langzeitstudierende

Liebe Studierende,

auf dieser Seite finden Sie Informationen zum Thema Studiengebühren. Wir möchten Ihnen einen kurzen Überblick über die rechtlichen Grundlagen und das weitere Verfahren im Zusammenhang mit der Erhebung von Studiengebühren geben.

Rechtsgrundlage
Nach § 109 a des Bremischen Hochschulgesetzes (BremHG) vom 22. Juni 2010 erhalten die Studierenden mit der Einschreibung ein Studienkonto mit einem Studienguthaben. Die näheren Einzelheiten dazu sind im Bremischen Studienkontengesetz und in der dazu erlassenen Ordnung der Hochschule Bremen zur Ausführung des Bremischen Studienkontengesetzes (Studienkontenordnung) ausgeführt.

Berechnung des individuellen Studienguthabens
Die Berechnung des individuellen Studienguthabens in Form von gebührenfreien Studiensemestern erfolgt nach den §§ 2 bis 4 des Bremischen Studienkontengesetzes. Prinzipiell gilt:

  • Studierende erhalten ein Studienguthaben von 14 Semestern.
  • Studierenden, die das 55. Lebensjahr vollendet haben, wird kein Studienguthaben gewährt.

Verbrauch des Studienguthabens
Von dem Studienguthaben werden alle gebührenfreien Hochschulsemester in Abzug gebracht, die an der Hochschule Bremen oder an anderen Hochschulen in Deutschland oder Europa absolviert wurden.

Höhe der Studiengebühr
Die Studiengebühr für Langzeitstudierende beträgt 500,- Euro pro Semester. Die Studiengebühr muss im Rahmen der Rückmeldung zusätzlich zu dem Semesterbeitrag eingezahlt werden. Die Studierenden, die Studiengebühren zahlen müssen, erhalten darüber einen Gebührenbescheid.

Anhörungsverfahren
Jedes Semester läuft für diejenigen Studierenden, die gebührenpflichtig werden, das Anhörungsverfahren. Diese Studierenden erhalten ein Anschreiben und einen Anhörungsbogen. Die angeschriebenen Studierenden haben im Rahmen des Anhörungsverfahrens folgende Möglichkeiten:

  • sie können einen Antrag auf Befreiung von der Gebührenpflicht wegen des Vorliegens von Ausnahmetatbeständen nach § 5 des Bremischen Studienkontengesetzes stellen, z.B. wegen einer Beurlaubung an einer anderen Hochschule oder der Betreuung von Kindern,
  • sie können einen Antrag auf Stundung, Ermäßigung oder Erlass der Studiengebühr wegen einer unbilligen Härte nach § 6 des Bremischen Studienkontengesetzes stellen, z.B. wegen der studienzeitverlängernden Wirkung einer Behinderung oder schweren Erkrankung.

Damit diese Angaben berücksichtigt werden können, muss der Anhörungsbogen in der angegebenen Frist ausgefüllt, unterschrieben und mit Nachweisen versehen zurückgesandt werden.

Gebührenbescheide
Nach dem Rücklauf der Anhörungsbögen erfolgt eine Entscheidung über die Gebührenpflicht und es ergehen entsprechende Bescheide mit einer Rechtsbehelfsbelehrung. Dabei ist zu beachten, dass im Falle der Einlegung eines Widerspruchs gegen einen Gebührenbescheid die Studiengebühr trotzdem erst einmal eingezahlt werden muss, da der Widerspruch keine aufschiebende Wirkung hat. Vor dem Zahlungseingang erfolgt keine Rückmeldung und die Semesterunterlagen (Leporellos) werden nicht versandt. Es ist deshalb sehr wichtig, dass die angeschriebenen Studierenden die Anhörungsbögen fristgemäß zurücksenden, damit die dort aufgeführten Angaben vor dem Erlass eines Gebührenbescheides berücksichtigt werden können.

Wir hoffen, dass mit diesen Angaben schon die meisten Fragen beantwortet sind, haben aber unter dem Link FAQ noch einige Fragen und Antworten zusammengefasst, die für Sie von Interesse sein könnten.

Ihr Immatrikulations- und Prüfungsamt

 


 

 

Access Keys: